Best software for mac/

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best software for mac/

I have always used Windows computers and hubby bought me a mac for my Birthday.
    I now need to know which is the best FT Software for mac.

I love the fact that on Family tree Maker 2010 that it should leaves when there was a hint on Ancestry do any of the mac programmes do this

Thank you for your help

Dawn
    researching HORNIGOLD,HORNAGOLD, HORNEGOLD etc.

Someone on another forum was recommending MacFamilyTree, but as I don't use a mac I can't really give any advice. I think that S & N Genealogy have at least one programme for a mac.

Probably not much help, but it might give you a few ideas.

Margaret
    Margaret

Comment

I think the two most popular are MacFamilyTree and Heredis, but I've no personal experience of either.
      I did read recently that Family Tree Maker are going to produce a version which is compatible with the Mac but no idea of release date.
      I don't think you will find any other program that integrates with Ancestry in the same way as FTM does.
      Elaine

Comment

Link to the Ancestry blog re FTM for the Mac
        Elaine

Comment

THANK YOU FOR FTM for MAC RESPONSES

THANKS for the answers - happy to see that I will be able to get FTM for my mac sometime this year

Comment

Would just like to keep this thread prominent as I use a Mac too & am looking to buy my first softwear. I have a friend who has been researching family history for years & her favourite is Roots Web Magic.....but I can't use that. What are the advantages of FTM ?

Comment

On the new macs you can run Windows OS as well as Mac OS, think bootcamp is part of OS (not sure as not a big fan of Macs) think there are other software titles available that will allow same
              Pretty sure that the new FTM 2011 is coming out as a Mac version fairly soon (its been promised in there marketing of it)

Comment