Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ass[u]ag department?

Hello!

I am new here, only registered a few weeks ago and haven't posted yet, but now I have a problem and I wondered if anyone of you might be able to shed a light on this...

On the 1911 census Mary Ann Petterson in London, my husband's maternal great grandmother, writes of her son that he is 'a labourer at the assage department of the lead works in Rotherhithe'. 'Assage' is probably 'assuage' misspelled, but what does the whole thing mean? He was only 15 then.

I looked it up in the dictionary as I am actually Dutch speaking, but it means soften or relieve or something like that (as you all know), not anything to do with industry.

Does anyone know what the 'assage department' is?
    Last edited by kiki1982; 14-06-09, 13:18.

I'm no great expert on lead works, but "assuage" doesn't sound right. Do you have the 1911 census image, or just the transcription? If you only have the transcription, you'll need to get the image to see what it says. If you still can't work it out, you can post the excerpt in question here and we'll try and decipher it.

Comment

I have the image printed off.

In my mind it definitely says 'assage'. She writes her g's when she writes 'single' the same as that letter. Although, if she wrote her y's similarly, then it is possible that it says 'assaye', which does have a chemical/industrial context.

Comment

I looked up lead works on google and got this http://www.southwark.gov.uk/Uploads/FILE_10435.pdf you might find it interesting. Type 'lead works' in the find box.
        Margaret

Comment

Yes, thank you. Next time we are in London we'll have to take look in the Heritage Museum...

Comment

I think it is almost certainly "Assay" - all metals have to be assayed.

Labourer in the assay department probably meant he just fetched and carried!

By the way Kiki, if Dutch is your first language, I congratulate you on your faultless written English!

OC

Comment