Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

On what search sites do you find the most info in tracing your roots?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• On what search sites do you find the most info in tracing your roots?

I am new to geneology and was wondering what people would recommend. With the help of a friend I have found all sorts of information, have joined up ancestry.co.uk (14 day free trial) and to be honest, I am fumbling round in the dark. Where should I go from here?

I have also joined a deceased on line site, and TBH I am wishing I hadn't bothered, it hasn't found a single grave.

Firstly, welcome to Family Tree Forum.

It really depends where the majority of your ancestors come from. If we are talking about England and Wales then Ancestry is probably the best site for you. If you have Scottish roots then you would need Scotlands People.

Have a look in our reference library (known as the Wiki) - click on the Wiki on the blue navigation bar and select the Main Wiki page. Scroll down the page and you will see a section on Online Research - if you click on that it will take you to the following page:
    Online Research - Family Tree Forum

There are a few free sites mentioned here which you will find of use, particuarly freeBMD which will allow you to find birth, marriage and deaths of your ancestors.

If you need some specific help then give us some details of what information you have found and what you are looking for and we will give you some pointers - please remember though that we don´t allow details of living people to be posted on the site.

Don´t be afraid to ask even the simplest of questions -we all had to start somewhere.
    Elaine

Comment

www.familysearch.org

www.ancestry.co.uk

www.genuki.org.uk
      ~ with love from Little Nell~
      Chowns, Dunt, Emms, Mealing, Purvey & Smoothy

Comment

If you are looking for people researching the same names, I'd say try Curious Fox.