further info

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• further info

I'm fairly new at this so I need some help.
    In the BMD indexes when you have the Volume & page # where can you use those #'s to acquire more info?

For example my grandparents marriage record:
    they are vol 8e page 1083
    I know that the 8e represents Lancashire but how do I get further info?

You can use the information found in the index to order certificates.
    The central place to order from is the General Register Office
    General Register Office (GRO) - Official information on births, marriages and deaths
    - cost £7 each.
    The information you need is:
    Name
    Year
    Quarter
    District
    Volume
    Page No.

If you are ordering from the GRO, and you have the information given above, then make sure you tick the box on the first page which says you have the full GRO reference, otherwise you will be charged £10 instead of £7.

Certificates can also be ordered from some local Record offices.

If you google, beware of other sites which offer to provide certificates - the charges are always higher than the General Register Office, to the point of being extortionate in some case.
    Last edited by Elaine ..Spain; 06-12-08, 09:02.
    Elaine

Comment

The GRO index also tells you the name of the district and you can look that up on GENUKI to find out what places were included in that district.

If they married in Lancashire, then the marriage may also be listed on
      Lancashire Births Marriages & Deaths
      and if so then it will tell you the church or register office where they got married.
      KiteRunner

Every five years or so I look back on my life and I have a good... laugh"
      (Indigo Girls, "Watershed")

Comment