Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Is it me?

  1. #1
    Member JBee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Avatar - Frank sadly no longer with us 21/9/2013
    Posts
    4,369

    Is it me?

    Trying to edit on ancestry and it won't let me - the box goes tiny and doesn't allow me to write anything.

    Have used desktop and ipad and still the same problem.

    Anyone else having the same trouble.



    Researching Irish families: FARMER, McBRIDE McQUADE, McQUAID, KIRK, SANDS/SANAHAN (Cork), BARR,

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Ampthill, Beds
    Posts
    1,943
    seems ok for me, you mean the quick edit from either tree, or drop down box on profile?

    not on desktop at the moment - but I did have some problems with that a while ago when I went for the new beta version - so reverted to old.

    It did work on edge I think but not chrome
    Last edited by cbcarolyn; 19-05-19 at 12:59.
    Carolyn

    Researching:Luggs, Freeman - Cornwall; Dayman, Hobbs, Heard - Devon
    Wilson, Miles - Northants; Brett, Everett, Clark, Allum - Herts/Essex
    Plant, Skinner - Lincs ....all moved to London
    Also interested in Proctor, Woodruff

  3. #3
    Member JBee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Avatar - Frank sadly no longer with us 21/9/2013
    Posts
    4,369
    Both - can't add a marriage or add a note to the profile of an individual



    Researching Irish families: FARMER, McBRIDE McQUADE, McQUAID, KIRK, SANDS/SANAHAN (Cork), BARR,

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Ampthill, Beds
    Posts
    1,943
    just tried on PC and is fine there too. What browser are you using?
    Carolyn

    Researching:Luggs, Freeman - Cornwall; Dayman, Hobbs, Heard - Devon
    Wilson, Miles - Northants; Brett, Everett, Clark, Allum - Herts/Essex
    Plant, Skinner - Lincs ....all moved to London
    Also interested in Proctor, Woodruff

  5. #5
    I'm having the same problem - I click on edit but the box shrinks into a thin oblong and fails to accept any typing.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Ampthill, Beds
    Posts
    1,943
    have you got the beta on?
    Carolyn

    Researching:Luggs, Freeman - Cornwall; Dayman, Hobbs, Heard - Devon
    Wilson, Miles - Northants; Brett, Everett, Clark, Allum - Herts/Essex
    Plant, Skinner - Lincs ....all moved to London
    Also interested in Proctor, Woodruff

  7. #7
    Member JBee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Avatar - Frank sadly no longer with us 21/9/2013
    Posts
    4,369
    No haven't changed anything so don't know what's happened.



    Researching Irish families: FARMER, McBRIDE McQUADE, McQUAID, KIRK, SANDS/SANAHAN (Cork), BARR,

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Ampthill, Beds
    Posts
    1,943
    are you using Chrome? try Edge on the PC and see if it makes a difference.
    Carolyn

    Researching:Luggs, Freeman - Cornwall; Dayman, Hobbs, Heard - Devon
    Wilson, Miles - Northants; Brett, Everett, Clark, Allum - Herts/Essex
    Plant, Skinner - Lincs ....all moved to London
    Also interested in Proctor, Woodruff

  9. #9
    Member JBee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Avatar - Frank sadly no longer with us 21/9/2013
    Posts
    4,369
    I don't understand why its changed as I haven't done anything. BETA is switched off on ancestry.

    Have looked at OH's laptop and its fine there and I can also add details on my desktop using FTM.

    I can access Edge but OH doesn't want it as normal browser but it did work on there. So I will have to switch to it when working on ancestry which is a phaff as I can't switch easily between the two browsers if I have different pages open.

    Just wish I could get it back to what it was.



    Researching Irish families: FARMER, McBRIDE McQUADE, McQUAID, KIRK, SANDS/SANAHAN (Cork), BARR,

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Ampthill, Beds
    Posts
    1,943
    Mine did go wrong when I went to beta version of ancestry so turned it off (I could only do this in Edge!) and have not gone back since.

    I don't like Edge, can only assume that Chrome has had an update.

    I am on Version 74.0.3729.157 (Official Build) (64-bit)...and now it has just done an update!

    edit - I am now on
    74.0.3729.169 (Official Build) (64-bit) and seems to be working fine, so maybe check for updates.

    Go to the three little dots, help, about google chrome

    Last edited by cbcarolyn; 22-05-19 at 14:13.
    Carolyn

    Researching:Luggs, Freeman - Cornwall; Dayman, Hobbs, Heard - Devon
    Wilson, Miles - Northants; Brett, Everett, Clark, Allum - Herts/Essex
    Plant, Skinner - Lincs ....all moved to London
    Also interested in Proctor, Woodruff

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •