Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Online Genealogy Viewer

Hi,

Since I am new to this forum, let me introduce myself. I am a hobbyist genealogy researcher looking for my ancestors and relatives. I went back to the 18th century with some of my ancestor lines.

I am a professional programmer and in my free time I also write software that I find useful for my genealogy research. A while back I created an "all-in-one" chart report for GenealogyJ (open-source genealogy software not maintained anymore). The report was useful for other people but it had some problems.

Currently, in my free time (which I have little of), I'm working on an online tool for visualizing the genealogy tree. You can open your own GEDCOM file (exported from any genealogy software) and see an interactive chart. Click to focus on a person and display their ancestors and descendants. It doesn't have a lot of features but I find it useful to visually see relationships and be able to quickly change focus to different people.

The website is here: https://pewu.github.io/topola-viewer

It is free and open-source software with source code on GitHub: https://github.com/PeWu/topola-viewer

Before trying with you own data, have a look at some example GEDCOMs found on the Web:

Note that in contrast to genealogy sites like ancestry.com or geni.com, this tool does not send any data to the server. When you open a file from your computer, all your data is processed only in the browser on your computer.

Let me know if it is useful for you and if you would like to see something more in the tool.

Thanks,
    Przemek

A blank page in IE11 but opens ok in Firefox

UPDATE tried open from file using Firefox but again, nothing but a blank page.
    Last edited by GallowayLass; 29-01-19, 23:22.

Comment

Is there a size limit? I just tried to open a random one I have and just got a blank page (in Chrome).
      Caroline
      Caroline's Family History Pages