Family tree maker version 10?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Family tree maker version 10?

I have an opportunity through EBay to purchase Family Tree Maker Version 10. This would be my first genealogy software. I am new to this and would like to take what I have on Ancestry.com and have it on my computer. Not sure if I should purchase the seller says it was used once. It’s a good price I think at under $20.

I need a user friendly software is this the right software for me? Also what happens with all the documents I have attached to my Ancestry tree will they transfer over to Family Tree Maker? My fear is if I buy it I will not be able to use it easily.

Thanks,

I believe that's a really old version of the program. I think it might be a waste of money.
    Anne

Comment

The only version of FTM that will upload both a gedcom and Media files from Ancestry is FTM17 - https://www.mackiev.com/ftm/

I would be very wary of buying that version from ebay. You do not know for sure that it is "clean" and early versions of FTM are no longer supported.

It is always a good idea to download your media files to your computer as you find them eg BMD and census images as you cannot download media items en bloc from Ancestry unless you sync them to FTM.

There are several free software programmes to which you can upload a gedcom:

The best genealogy sites can help you look into the past to improve your future.

I would definitely download the gedcom from Ancestry to your computer then to eg cloud or other external backup system to keep it safe.

Edit: I agree with Anne, it's very old!
      Last edited by Katarzyna; 08-01-19, 13:40.
      Kat

My avatar is my mother 1921 - 2012

Comment

There are some really good Genealogy software programmes out there and posters on here may recommend other programmes to use.