Family Mystery

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Family Mystery

Hi I am new to this interesting forum, and have been interested in FH for quite a few years.

My problem involves my Father-in -laws grandfather. According to his childhood memories his father told him
    that his grandfather had been a merchant seaman who got in trouble in Canada, and then stole a fellow seamans
    papers and identity. He thinks that his original name may have been Fitzgerald and he may have been of Irish origin.
    My father in law is now 90 and his memory may be affected by time?

His Grandfathers name was William Lander

The details I have researched mainly from FMP are:

First appearance 1890 Marriage to Winifred Dicker in Hackney
    1891 Census 61 Wells Street, Hackney William Lander, Head, Married, Male, 38, 1853, Seaman, London England - with wife Winifred

1901 Census 84 Wick Road, Hackney William Lander, Head, Married. Male,48, 1853, AB Seaman, Merchant Service, Homerton England With his
    wife and four children.

1911 Census 2 Sidney Road Homerton (which I beleive was a Workhouse mainly for Sailors) Inmate,Widower,Male,Formerly Seaman, 58, 1853, Born London
    Whitechapel. His youngest son was an inmate in an orphanage/workhouse and I have not fully researched the others.

1919 Died 3rd Quarter 1919

My father in law asks is it possible to find out anything about his grandfather prior to 1890?

I fear it is a brick wall.

Thanks for any comments

Phil.

Hi Phil, there is a birth record apr- Jun 1854 William Lander Middlesex, MMN Peasley.
    Robert

Comment

This is William and Winifred's marriage for those researching this:

Elizabeth
      Research Interests:
      England:Purkis, Stilwell, Quintrell, White (Surrey - Guildford), Jeffcoat, Bond, Alexander, Lamb, Newton (Lincolnshire, Stalybridge, London)
      Scotland:Richardson (Banffshire), Wishart (Kincardineshire), Johnston (Kincardineshire)

Comment