Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• General Help on Searching

Hi,
    I am relatively new to researching my family tree and would appreciate any help on a couple of points that I am struggling with. I have been using Ancestry.co.uk to which I have a subscription for most of my research. I have populated my tree with a lot of information we already know relating to near relatives and facts already known in the family. My first query is - Some information that I already know (for example my mothers death in 1997) doesn't show up in any search. I have used specific dates and places and also tried being less specific but no way does anything come up relating to her death. I don't know if this has any bearing on the result but she actually died whilst abroad in Spain. To add to this, my fathers death which was 5 years later in 2002 comes up instantly in searches?

My next query is an uncle of mine. Again I know his name, where he lived and when he was born 1900 (+/- 1 year) and also date of death 1970 (+/- 1 year). I also know his spouses name (my Aunty). However all I can find in searches is their marriage certificate nothing else. I know where my uncle worked (Seaham docks) and its this information I wanted to trace but so far I am drawing a blank on anything?

Any advise would be appreciated as I feel I am spending a lot of time trawling through search information and not getting very far - its demotivating....

Welcome to FTF Alan. Under the banner at the top of this page is our reference library which has a mine of information about Genealogy and how to get started.( Click the link)

You will need to build up a lot more information about your family before Ancestry is much help to you I'm afraid. See how that goes and then come back to this thread if you need any help or advice.

Your mother's death in Spain will have been registered there. That won't be on Ancestry.
    Last edited by Katarzyna; 09-03-17, 17:12.
    Kat