No announcement yet.

Chapman Codes


  • Chapman Codes

    Chapman Codes are codes identifying administrative divisions in the UK, Ireland, Isle of Man and Channel Islands.

    They cover historical divisions and are widely used in genealogy. They are named after their creator, Dr Colin Chapman.


    • AVN Avon, England
    • BDF Bedfordshire, England
    • BKM Buckinghamshire, England
    • BRK Berkshire, England
    • CAM Cambridgeshire, England
    • CHS Cheshire, England
    • CLV Cleveland, England
    • CMA Cumbria, England
    • CON Cornwall, England
    • CUL Cumberland, England
    • DBY Derbyshire, England
    • DEV Devon, England
    • DOR Dorset, England
    • DUR Co. Durham, England
    • ENG England
    • ERY East Riding of Yorkshire, England
    • ESS Essex, England
    • GLS Gloucestershire, England
    • GTM Greater Manchester, England
    • HAM Hampshire, England
    • HEF Herefordshire, England
    • HRT Hertfordshire, England
    • HUM Humberside, England
    • HUN Huntingdonshire, England
    • HWR Hereford and Worcester, England
    • IOM Isle of Man
    • IOW Isle of Wight, England
    • KEN Kent, England
    • LAN Lancashire, England
    • LEI Leicestershire, England
    • LIN Lincolnshire, England
    • LND London, England
    • MDX Middlesex, England
    • MSY Merseyside, England
    • NBL Northumberland, England
    • NFK Norfolk, England
    • NRY North Riding of Yorkshire, England
    • NTH Northamptonshire, England
    • NTT Nottinghamshire, England
    • NYK North Yorkshire, England
    • OXF Oxfordshire, England
    • RUT Rutland, England
    • WAR Warwickshire, England
    • SAL Shropshire, England
    • SFK Suffolk, England
    • SOM Somerset, England
    • SRY Surrey, England
    • SSX Sussex, England
    • STS Staffordshire, England
    • SXE East Sussex, England
    • SXW West Sussex, England
    • SYK South Yorkshire, England
    • TWR Tyne and Wear, England
    • WES Westmorland, England
    • WIL Wiltshire, England
    • WMD West Midlands, England
    • WOR Worcestershire, England
    • WRY West Riding of Yorkshire, England
    • WYK West Yorkshire, England
    • YKS Yorkshire, England

    • CAR Co. Carlow, Ireland
    • CAV Co. Cavan, Ireland
    • CLA Co. Clare, Ireland
    • COR Co. Cork, Ireland
    • DON Co. Donegal, Ireland
    • DUB Co. Dublin, Ireland
    • GAL Co. Galway, Ireland
    • IRL Ireland
    • KER Co. Kerry, Ireland
    • KID Co. Kildare, Ireland
    • KIK Co. Kilkenny, Ireland
    • LET Co. Leitrim, Ireland
    • LEX Co. Laois, Ireland
    • LIM Co. Limerick, Ireland
    • LOG Co. Longford, Ireland
    • LOU Co. Louth, Ireland
    • MAY Co. Mayo, Ireland
    • MEA Co. Meath, Ireland
    • MOG Co. Monaghan, Ireland
    • OFF Co. Offaly, Ireland
    • ROS Co. Roscommon, Ireland
    • SLI Co. Sligo, Ireland
    • TIP Co. Tipperary, Ireland
    • WAT Co. Waterford, Ireland
    • WEM Co. Westmeath, Ireland
    • WEX Co. Wexford, Ireland
    • WIC Co. Wicklow, Ireland
    Northern Ireland

    • ANT Co. Antrim, Northern Ireland
    • ARM Co. Armagh, Northern Ireland
    • DOW Co. Down, Northern Ireland
    • FER Co. Fermanagh, Northern Ireland
    • LDY Co. Londonderry, Northern Ireland
    • NIR Northern Ireland
    • TYR Co. Tyrone, Northern Ireland

    • ABD Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    • ANS Angus, Scotland
    • ARL Argyllshire, Scotland
    • AYR Ayrshire, Scotland
    • BAN Banffshire, Scotland
    • BEW Berwickshire, Scotland
    • BOR Borders, Scotland
    • BUT Bute, Scotland
    • CAI Caithness, Scotland
    • CEN Central, Scotland
    • CLK Clackmannanshire, Scotland
    • DFS Dumfries-shire, Scotland
    • DGY Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland
    • DNB Dunbartonshire, Scotland
    • ELN East Lothian, Scotland
    • FIF Fife, Scotland
    • GMP Grampian, Scotland
    • HLD Highland, Scotland
    • INV Inverness-shire, Scotland
    • KCD Kincardineshire, Scotland
    • KKD Kirkcudbrightshire, Scotland
    • KRS Kinross-shire, Scotland
    • LKS Lanarkshire, Scotland
    • LTN Lothian, Scotland
    • MLN Midlothian, Scotland
    • MOR Morayshire, Scotland
    • NAI Nairn, Scotland
    • OKI Orkney, Scotland
    • PEE Peebles-shire, Scotland
    • PER Perth, Scotland
    • RFW Renfrewshire, Scotland
    • ROC Ross and Cromarty, Scotland
    • ROX Roxburghshire, Scotland
    • SCT Scotland
    • SEL Selkirkshire, Scotland
    • SHI Shetland, Scotland
    • STD Strathclyde, Scotland
    • STI Stirlingshire, Scotland
    • SUT Sutherland, Scotland
    • TAY Tayside, Scotland
    • WIG Wigtownshire, Scotland
    • WIS Western Isles, Scotland
    • WLN West Lothian, Scotland

    • AGY Anglesey, Wales
    • BRE Breconshire, Wales
    • CAE Caernarvonshire, Wales
    • CGN Cardiganshire, Wales
    • CMN Carmarthenshire, Wales
    • CWD Clwyd, Wales
    • DEN Denbighshire, Wales
    • DFD Dyfed, Wales
    • FLN Flintshire, Wales
    • GLA Glamorgan, Wales
    • GNT Gwent, Wales
    • GWN Gwynedd, Wales
    • MER Merionethshire, Wales
    • MGM Mid Glamorgan, Wales
    • MGY Montgomeryshire, Wales
    • MON Monmouthshire, Wales
    • PEM Pembrokeshire, Wales
    • POW Powys, Wales
    • RAD Radnorshire, Wales
    • WAL Wales
    • SGM South Glamorgan, Wales
    • WGM West Glamorgan, Wales
    The Channel Isles

    • ALD Alderney, Channel Islands
    • CHI Channel Islands (Sometimes just "CI")
    • GSY Guernsey, Channel Islands
    • JSY Jersey, Channel Islands
    • SRK Sark, Channel Islands
      Posting comments is disabled.



    There are no tags yet.

    Latest Articles


    • Whitwell
      by Barbara Dodds
      Whitwell is a parish in the north east corner of Derbyshire, on the borders with both Nottinghamshire and South Yorkshire. It has at various times been classed as being a Nottinghamshire village. It consists of the hamlets of Steetley, Belph and Bakestone Moor and the villages of Hodthorpe and Whitwell. The parish includes a part of Creswell Crags where there have been some very early Neolithic cave paintings found, perhaps the earliest in Europe. Whitwell is mentioned in the Domesda...
      12-08-10, 18:44
    • Northchurch
      by Elaine ..Spain
      Northchurch, a parish in the Bulbourne valley in Hertfordshire, was once a village in its own right but has now become almost enveloped in Berkhamsted.

      The Parish Church of St. Mary is one of the oldest in Hertfordshire, believed to date from Saxon times. The chu...
      10-08-10, 08:36
    • Berkhamsted
      by Elaine ..Spain
      Berkhamsted is a historic market town in west Hertfordshire. The name of the town has been spelt in a variety of ways, including Berkhampstead, Muche Barkhamstede, Berkhamsted Magna, Great Berkhamsted and Berkhamstead. Berkhamsted Castle is rich in history - it was there in 1066 that Duke William of Normandy was offered the crown of England. The remains of the castle can be seen from the railway as you pass through on the main line to London Euston. Much of the original flint wo...
      10-08-10, 08:33
    • Mitcham
      by Caroline
      01-03-10, 12:50
    • Peterborough
      by Caroline
      The Cathedral city of Peterborough is situated on the River Nene in the heart of Cambridgeshire, 80 miles north of London. Whilst it is self-governing, it forms part of the county of Cambridgeshire for ceremonial purposes. The area is flat and low lying, with the Fens lying to the east of the city. Human settlement in the area dates back to before the Bronze Age (2300-600 BC), and evidence of this can be seen at the Flag Fen Archaeological Site, in the Fengate area of the city. The city's r...
      01-03-10, 12:37
    • A Case Study: The Simpsons
      by Caroline

      17-02-10, 10:40