Family Tree Maker / Ancestry.co.uk Help for a beginner

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Family Tree Maker / Ancestry.co.uk Help for a beginner

Hi, I'm new to genealogy and hoping for some advice please.

Background - I was brought an Ancestry DNA kit for Christmas. After getting results the first person in the Ancestry.co.uk list contact me. She is a cousin on my mother's side and has built a big family tree and shared it with me. That's great and I've muddled myself around Ancestry and copied all her people (relevant to me) to my new family tree which is a fantastic start (feel a bit guilt I haven't worked for it). What wasn't copied over were the "sources" and media files so just starting to work on those.

I'm sure I'll have loads of genealogy questions later to bore you with but for now want to sort out best method of recording so I don't have to redo it later.

So I have Ancestry.co.uk subscription and doing a bit of reading it appears using both Ancestry and Family Tree Maker software seems poplar. My questions:-
    Why use both ?
    Is FTM a good choice and an particular reason?
    How reliable is the syncing between the two ?
    What information is sync'ed and what isn't ?
    My experience of having software syncing is there are always some things to watch out for, any with this combination ?

Sorry for long post, many thanks for any help. Regards, Duncan

FTM is on your computer and will mean regardless whether you have an ancestry sub you have access to all records and more importantly the images. Ancestry you only get this access if you pay them each year.

All info is synhc'd, I have not had any problems with synching, years ago when internet connections were not so good it would go wrong.

There are a couple of recent threads on the forum about the software.

Rootsmagic also links - but it is amazingly laborious as you have to confirm every record with 2 or 3 clicks - so when you add a load of records it is just not practical.