Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• WW1 information help

Hi

I'm not sure where to ask this, so would be grateful if anyone can pass me in the right direction.

I believe my great grandad was in the 23rd Battalion Royal Fusiliers and looking at their action during the war, when he died they were fighting in a place called Mailly-Maillet. However, he has a memorial at Arras rather than in the Mailly cemetary. Does that sound "normal"? I'm presuming they didn't transport bodies and he was left in Mailly. He doesn't have a grave, he is written on one of their large plaques.
    Robyne

Name interests: Alderton, Osborne, Danslow, Hanley, Bowkett, Lakin, Elliott, Banner, Walters, Reed, Deighton, Sleight, Dungar ;)

I'm not very good at Military history but been watching Long Lost Families from last night and it was about soldiers from WW1. They are still finding bodies even now and using DNA to find their names. Even the ones that are unburied are on a memorial.
    Lin

Searching Lowe, Everitt, Hurt and Dunns in Nottingham

Comment

What was his name, please and when did he die?
      The National Archives, Kew – Research Service Offered
      Contact me via PM on Family Tree Forum or via my personal website - www.militaryandfamilyresearch.co.uk

Comment

The question is multi-layered .............. did he die on the battlefield, or was he wounded and taken to a field hospital and/or a hospital behind the lines, was his body found later (ie after the war) and it was decided that his name should be on the Arras memorial, is there actually a memorial at Mailly-Maillet.
        Last edited by Sylvia C; 05-02-20, 23:47.
        My grandmother, on the beach, South Bay, Scarborough, undated photo (poss. 1929 or 1930)

Researching Cadd, Schofield, Cottrell in Lancashire, Buckinghamshire; Taylor, Park in Westmorland; Hayhurst in Yorkshire, Westmorland, Lancashire; Hughes, Roberts in Wales.

Comment

Hi