Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can anyone see my Nan in the 1901 census?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can anyone see my Nan in the 1901 census?

Hi

I've been researching my tree since 2002. Ever since then, I have been trying to find my Nan in the 1901 census, but no joy! She's not with any relations, and I cant see her in any institutions or hospitals.

Her name was Isabella Jane Ivey born 7th May 1889 (died Isabella Jacobs 21st March 1981)

She was born & lived in Randalls Buildings, Poplar until it was blitzed, then they moved (with my dad) to Canton Street, Poplar.

She is clearly in the 1891 census with parents Maria & Richard Ivey, step-brother Francis & sisters Maria, Edith & Nellie. She's also in the 1911 census... I would love to know where she was in 1901.

I think she may have been in a hospital or convalescent home because according to Dad, she told him she was very close to her younger sister Lydia and they both became very ill with Diptheria.

On the 14th August 1900, Nan & Lydia were at either end of the settee wrapped in blankets both very unwell. My g-granddad had bought the girls a toy china tea set and they were playing with it. Lydia died that afternoon, she still had the milk jug from the tea set in her hand when she stopped breathing. Nan kept that toy milk jug all her life, after Nan died Dad had it, then he gave it to me. Its about 2 inches high and an inch in diameter, made of orange china...

Anyway, apparently Nan became very ill a few days or so later and stopped breathing just as Lydia had done, the story goes her mother Maria picked Nan up and threw her on the settee with all her might screaming that she didn't want to lose another child. The force of her hitting the settee on her back forced air into her lungs and she started crying...Nan would have been 11 at the time.