William E Hill Furrier

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• William E Hill Furrier

My great grandfather William E Hill was sentenced to 9 months hard labour at The Old Bailey for receiving forty-two sable skins and other articles in 1906 aged 64. He lived in Islington and was a furrier by trade.

I assume he served his sentence at Pentonville but I cannot find any further information about him. He does not seem to appear on the 1911 Census and I cannot find a death record for him in the Islington and surrounding area?

I have purchased some incorrect death certificates and wondering if there is any other way of finding him.

Peter

Do you have a place of birth for him?
    Have you found him on the 1901 census, if so could you give the reference or a link.
    Elaine

Comment

Elaine, I think this is him in 1901,a furrier aged 57 born St Lukes a visitor in the household of Caroline Langdell RG13 piece 188 folio 52 page 35
      Judith passed away in October 2018

Comment

Just found that one - thought it was probably the right one. I wonder if there is any known family - wife/children etc?
        Elaine

Comment

Possibly the 1881 census - with wife Abigail
          http://search.ancestry.co.uk/cgi-bin...363512&recoff=
          RG11; Piece: 271; Folio: 95; Page: 7
          Elaine

Comment

If that is the right family then this could be wife Abigail living with daughter Martha in 1911 -
            Abigail Hill - born 1844 Wateringbury, Kent
            Begin your discovery today by exploring the world's largest online family history resource!

Class: RG14; Piece: 9712; Schedule Number: 195;

Abigail shown as married.
            Elaine

Comment

Originally posted by Slippery View Post

I have purchased some incorrect death certificates and wondering if there is any other way of finding him.
              Have you ordered any of these?

William E Hill (born c1842) Oct-Nov-Dec 1919 St Olave London