Have hit a wall

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Have hit a wall

Hello, I am hoping someone can help me. I will try and be as clear as I can. I am fairly new to all this but have picked up quite a bit of information about my husband's family tree already.

We have traced his line back to William Robertson and Sarah Nicol in Ayrshire who were married in Tarbolton in 1866. On the marriage register (which I found at Scotlandspeople) William's parents are listed as Andrew and Elizabeth Cavens...or maybe Cavins or Caven or Cavin.

Firstly regarding his mother. I know records are sketchy pre 1855, but I can only find details on census, births and deaths for an Elizabeth Caven . I cannot find William on the 1851 census.
    I can find record of a marriage between an Elizabeth Cavins and Andrew Robertson in Tarbolton (again) in 1842. Which seems likely. But no other Elizabeth Cavins comes up in searches anywhere in Scotland for the time period I am looking at.
    William and Andrew appear in 1861 on a census with no 'wife' but with plenty of siblings. I suspect Andrew may have married again but will come to that.

A likely candidate for Elizabeth is down in Kirkcudbrightshire (sp?) who later marries a Kirkpatrick and is shown visiting her mother in the 1851 census as a visitor anuitant?

To Andrew - there are a large number of Andrew Robertson's. I am struggling to find the right one. Tips and advice warmly welcomed.

Generally speaking all the men seem to be miners though I appreciate as I go back further this may change.

Welcome to the forum!

Do you know when and where William was born?
    Elaine

Comment

Originally posted by Elaine ..Spain View Post
      Welcome to the forum!

Do you know when and where William was born?
      He was born around 1847, in Coylton, Ayrshire

Comment

Originally posted by Elaine ..Spain