Across the pond from England to Australia

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Across the pond from England to Australia

Hi there, I am quite new to the family history researching game but I have made good progress so far. I have managed to track my family name back to an "Arthur Courtney" who lived in Sydney, Australia and died there in 1911. There is no birth record in Australia for Arthur, but I have managed to get a hold of a very old physical note that indicates his father was a "William Courtney" from Millwall in England, which as far as I can see is a locality in the Isle of Dogs, London.

But that's where my good luck has ended, I can't seem to bridge this gap - was Arthur born in England, emigrating with his father William? I know nothing of Arthur's mother either. If any one has any advice or can help me at all on what to do (or knows exactly where to search and can do so for me!) then I would really appreciate it!!! Thanks!!

Do you know his date of birth?
    Wendy

PLEASE SCAN AT 300-600 DPI FOR RESTORATION PURPOSES. THANK YOU!

Comment

Is he the Arthur Courtney of the Baumann's Cafe who died aged 50 years, 17 Apr 1911? If so, you can search the Trove newspaper site for funeral notices, which may lead you further into his tree.

Australia’s free online research portal. Trove is a collaboration between the National Library of Australia and hundreds of Partner organisations around Australia.

You can order his death certificate online at

The Registry was formed in 1856 to register life events in New South Wales accurately and securely for all time, ensuring their integrity and confidentiality. All our over the counter services are available at Service NSW centres.

Reg. No:4083/1911
      Last Name: COURTNEY
      Given Name:ARTHUR
      Father:WILLIAM
      Reg. dist:SYDNEY

and may be able to get further details of his parents there, perhaps.
      Last edited by Macbev; 10-07-12, 08:30.

Beverley

Comment