Census

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Census

Hi I am new to this forum and this is my first attempt at making a family tree. I live in South Wales and when researching past family members I cannot find any Censors for Wales can anyone help me, am I doing something wrong or are there some other records I should be looking at.
    I am using FAMILY TREE MAKER 2011

Hi William and welcome to FTF
    I think you might get the best help by posting a message on the Family History Research section of FTF. If you give some details of who you are looking for and ask how and where to find them on the census etc people will be pleased to help you. Don't post names of living family but ,if you have already got the marriage/births certificates etc or solid information of your immediate family, it should be possible to find their ancestors.
    If you are using Family Tree Maker did you get free access for a time to Ancestry? As this is where you will find the Wales census along with births/deaths/marriages etc.
    Free BMD is also very useful for births/marriages and deaths - you will find it here - http://www.freebmd.org.uk/cgi/search.pl

Hope this helps and look forward to seeing any of your requests for help on Family History Research
    Last edited by Chrissie Smiff; 17-05-12, 09:51.
    Chrissie passed away in January 2020.

Comment

in order to search the census, you need access to familysearch.org, findmypast, or ancestry. your library should have ancestry, so you should be able to use it there. assuminng you have traced your family back enough to be able to use the 1911 census, it is a simple thing to get results. if you need help, ask here!!

Comment

Thank you both for your help I now know where to start

Comment

Welcome to FTF, William.

If you're very new to family tree research, you could do worse than have a look here: http://www.familytreeforum.com/conte...etting-Started