Ralph coulson 1817

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ralph coulson 1817

I am researching my 2nd great grandfather (ralph coulson born about 1817 higherds,herefordshire)this information is on ancestry,the census says he lived in "higherds"herefordshire,but there seems to be no place named "higherds"i am try to go back to search his parents,thank you.
    Valerie coulson

Welcome to Family tree Forum.

Presume you are talking about the 1851 census - http://search.ancestry.co.uk/iexec?h...rc=&pid=736941
    Looking at the image I would guess the place of birth is Highcross Herefordshire - using the old style "fs" in place of "ss"

High Cross appears to be a monument - found this reference to it

Can't see his parents at the moment.
    Elaine

Comment

Thank you elaine,i am new to researching so this is so much help"your a star"i am so slow at it,
      valerie

Comment

Sorry to put the cat amongst the pigeons, but to me it looks like "High Cross Hertfordshire" and that is how FMP have transcribed it.

Elizabeth
        Research Interests:
        England:Purkis, Stilwell, Quintrell, White (Surrey - Guildford), Jeffcoat, Bond, Alexander, Lamb, Newton (Lincolnshire, Stalybridge, London)
        Scotland:Richardson (Banffshire), Wishart (Kincardineshire), Johnston (Kincardineshire)

Comment

Here he is I think in 1841, with baby Thomas and his wife:

1841 Census
          CANSTON, Ralph
          ST GEORGE THE MARTYR SOUTHWARK, Surrey
          HO107 piece 1086 folio 2/16 page 25

The enumerator doesn't seem to be able to spell his name.
          Elizabeth
          Research Interests:
          England:Purkis, Stilwell, Quintrell, White (Surrey - Guildford), Jeffcoat, Bond, Alexander, Lamb, Newton (Lincolnshire, Stalybridge, London)
          Scotland:Richardson (Banffshire), Wishart (Kincardineshire), Johnston (Kincardineshire)

Comment