New to it all!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to it all!

Hi everybody, I'm new to all of this. I've signed up to Ancestry.co.uk but I'm after some hints and tips of where to start. I have got some information but only as far back as my great grandparents, and the information I have is very scant.
    What's the best way to begin??? Thanks

Hello Tan,

welcome to the forum, as you are new to this very addictive hobby you should look at our Getting-Started and Online-Research guides, these can be found on the 'navbar' that runs across your screen at the top of this forum, they can give you some ideas what to do/look for and how to present your findings.
    Julie
    They're coming to take me away haha hee hee..........

.......I find dead people

Comment

Thanks. I've already started doing that, my problem is that I'm not sure on birth / death dates for most of them and just don't know how to confirm that people who I come across are definitely part of my family.

Comment

Welcome to FTF. The crucial thing is to check each generation thoroughly, starting with you. That way you will be sure who married who, and that you've got the correct children. It's very easy to "assume" and then go haring up completely the wrong tree. Buying certificates is expensive, but it's the only way to guard against errors. There was an example quoted on "Heir Hunters" today, where they picked up on an online tree with the target person in it, and discovered elementary errors almost from the start. Obviously there are families that start off untraceable because of adoptions, bigamy and other aberrations, but they are in the minority. My family has enough unusual names on both sides to enable fairly straightforward tracing.
        Last edited by Uncle John; 16-04-12, 21:55.
        Uncle John - Passed away March 2020

Comment