ARGH Cowells in Kent!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ARGH Cowells in Kent!

Hi everyone, I am very new to this forum, in fact this is my first post! I am hoping you will be able to help me, I am having trouble with Kent the county.
    I have traced my husbands side of the family back to William Archibald Cowell he was born in Margate in Kent in 1859, I have confirmed him with various census' and a prison record which came as a shock! But now I am trying to find his father John Cowell and I am having no luck, I know he was John Cowell but that's it.... William's marriage listing references John as his father, but I have no other information. As the dates are going back to the 1830s I can't use census to find out if i have the right person.... As I said I am new to this family tree bit, could someone please tell me how to confirm you have the right ancestor from a possible list when you don't have censuses! Sorry if I am being a bit thick, and you all probably have done this a thousand times....but I am grateful.
    Justine
    xx

I don't know what information people usually give, so I will give all i know ......
    William Archibald Cowell (1859)married Sarah FLoyd (1864) in st amry's walthamstow 21 aug 1882
    they had 7 children
    Eliza L 1883
    William A 1884
    Nellie 1887
    Susan 1890
    John 1892
    George Ernest 1896
    Lilly 1899

I have evidence from 1891 , 1901 census
    wife Sarah was born in Shoreditch London 1864 and shows on 1871 census as living at Higham hill comon
    William's prison record is in 1901 Chelmsford Great Baddow discovered it was for theft.
    oh and William was a fish monger & poulterer
    Last edited by Justine Cowell; 18-02-12, 13:19.

Welcome to FTF!

First things first, have you got William Cowell's birth certificate? That will confirm his parent's names. It's not unknown for people to make up their father's name when they marry eg if they're illegitimate.