wdytya family tree maker

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• wdytya family tree maker

Am I likely to encounter any problems when I get around to installing my who do you think you are family tree maker into our windows7? I think it is about a 2005 edition as I have been doing my tree for 8 years now. Just looked on the box and it says its the de luxe edition but couldnt find the date. Or is it time to buy a new one of those as well?

If it equates to the Family Tree Maker 2005 edition then you will encounter a problem!
    You can certainly get it to work with Vista by installing an additional patch but as far as I know it wont work with Windows 7, particularly if you have a 64 bit computer.
    Probably time to upgrade. Family Tree Maker 2012 is the current version - you will find it very different to FTM 2005 (WDYTYA version).

There are a few threads on her about best buys - if you want to get a freebie Ancestry subscription with it then FTM 2012 Platinum edition is your best bet - last time I looked it was £29.99 on Amazon which includes a six month free Ancestry sub (worth £53+). You can also buy the same thing using Tesco points - I think it costs £19.99
    Elaine

Comment

Okay Thanks Elaine. WE have installed it a couple of times in windows xp as we have had to wipe the machine due to various things and didnt have any trouble. Think ours is a 32 bit. All starts to get a bit technical for me. May have to wait till my birthday then......

Comment

The Wdtya version is the same as 2006. When I upgraded to windows7 32 bit on the PC and 64 bit on the laptop, I had to install the Vista patch before it worked properly on both.
        Wendy

PLEASE SCAN AT 300-600 DPI FOR RESTORATION PURPOSES. THANK YOU!

Comment

just had a look at family tree maker on amazon. There are different versions. Wonder what the world edition is all about as it is £78 compared to the platinum at £29.99 with 6 months ancestry subs...

Comment