Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Family History Legalities

Hi there,

I haven't been around for a while but have a little question burning in my head.

What are the legalities with researching Family History?

I have been researching mine since 2007 and the general consensus is that it's absolutely fabulous! However, my partner's family are a totally different matter. Let me explain...

My partner's Father died in 1996, his Mother is still living.
    My partner is keen to research his family which is all well and good. We started it a while back and have done quite well.
    However, after an argument between his mother and myself, she turned around and announced that what we are doing is illegal and she will take ME to court to stop ME from doing it if she has to.

Is my partner still 'allowed' to research his family history regardless of his Mother? Surely, either way there would be no legal issue with his father's side of the family woud there? As his father is deceased.
    Are my partner and I really doing something illegal?

Hope you can help me out.

Beth

p.s. We have not, as yet, started her family history as we concentrated on my partners father.

No you are doing nothing illegal at all. anyone can research anyone else's family, the records are in the public domain.

Ask her under what law she is taking you to court! Also - why??? What doesn't she want you to know?

OC

Comment

Originally posted by Olde Crone Holden View Post
      No you are doing nothing illegal at all. anyone can research anyone else's family, the records are in the public domain.

Ask her under what law she is taking you to court! Also - why??? What doesn't she want you to know?

OC
      Thank you for echoing my thoughts. I would have imagined that if it was illegal then you wouldn't be able to order certificates with no id.... ;)