Scottish birth help and value of Will

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scottish birth help and value of Will

Hi I have looked long and hard without success for the birth of an ancestor but cannot find his birth and wondered if anyone can help?

His name was Thomas Wilson and he died in Alva, Clackmannanshire, Scotland on the 6th March 1898. He was age 66 when he dies so that places his birth around 1832. On the various censuses his place of
    birth was given as Tuliallan (sometimes listed as Clackmannanshire of Perthshire) and Kincardine (Perthshire).

Luckily he left a Will and was a dairyman by trade. On the Will the assets were £41.11 and his debts were £33.15 so the net value was around £8 - would anyone know where I could find out the worth of his estate in today's money?

Can anyone help?

Thanks as always

Steven

Hello Steven,

will give you the equivalent in 2005.
    AUDREY

Comment

Thanks Willsmum it works out at about £386!!!!!!! I thought it was going to be loads. Not a rich dairyman then!!!!!!

Steven

Comment

From his death certificate what are his parents' forenames and his mother maiden surname?

Comment

HI GallowayLass I should have put that on my original post

His parents were Thomas Wilson - occupation Quarryman and Elizabeth Wishart (I think it says) - I haven't managed to find his parents marriage or any further back this line

Regards

Steven

Comment

I presume you have tried the Tulliallan records on Scotlands People. Tulliallan is/was Perth(Now Fife!) also often bracketed with Kincardine, not Clackmananshire. If you google Genuki Tulliallan you will see that Clackmanan borders it but Clackmananshire is the smallest county. I tried to flag up the web address for Genuki Tulliallan but have not been able to do so. There used to be a lot of records online for Tulliallan, to include all the marriages but they appear to have disappeared as I can no longer access them!