Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie Q's: FMP vs Ancestry 2011 and Searching somone who is alive from past relative

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie Q's: FMP vs Ancestry 2011 and Searching somone who is alive from past relative

Hello,

Newbie here. I have a couple of questions

About my situation: I've been given quite a bit of information from my uncle (my father's brother) about his family tree. So i decided to get as much as I can from my mother about her side and entered it all into familyecho.com. This allowed me to see what my tree was like but it is free and will allow me to transfer the data to another program at a later date i.e family tree maker etc.

The two questions relate to my G.G Grandad who came across from Sweden. I have found out names and DOB about his parents + brothers and sisters (from a swedish site) plus some dates for two of them who emigrated to the USA and 2 to the UK.

To get more info about them i am thinking about subscribing to Ancestry's worldwide service but then noticed that find my past offers the 1911 cenus. I did find a previous post from 2009 somesone one who has asked a similar question. So two years on, do the same arguments apply. FMP vs Ancestry- Which one should i pay for?

Also

My uncle and my nana are interested in finding (if possible) any living relatives from from the people who moved to the UK and the US. I am going to start with the UK one first but can anyone tell me how hard it will be to find someone who is a living descendant from somebody who was born around the 1880's (i.e my G.G Grandad brother and sisters).

My first step would be to look at the 1911 cenus, which should tell me if he was living with someone (or married etc) but if he was single, I guess it would be harder to find his Children etc to the present day. Has anyone been able to do this.

Many thanks for taking the time to read my post.

Mark