Key Street, Hoxton, London c 1888

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Key Street, Hoxton, London c 1888

I'd guess Key Street disappeared in the slum clearance but I cannot find anything else on it despite having a good look at some old maps. Does anyone know its location?

http://www.casebook.org/press_reports/daily_telegraph/dt880906.html?printer=true

The Daily Telegraph
    THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 6, 1888
    Page 3
    POLICE INTELLIGENCE
    WORSHIP-STREET - A Disciple of "Buck's-row." - Henry Hummerston, 32, labourer, of Key-street, Hoxton, was charged, on remand from the previous day, with having assaulted and attempted to murder Eliza Smith. <snip: detail of charges and case outcome>

The Eliza Smith mentioned is my great, great grandmother born in the late 1860's with my great grandfather, Alfie Smith born in the Shoreditch workhouse in the late 1880's, father unknown.
    If anyone could point me in the right direction I would be very grateful, I am new to this.
    The London connection to my family is a bit of a mystery as Alfie was sent to Wales as a young boy, under
    Last edited by Christine in Herts; 10-08-11, 13:32. Reason: avoidance of infringement risk

a bit of a cloud and it was never spoken much about again.
    Apparently her family came to London from the Northampton area to work in the shoe trade.

Comment

there is a Key Street in Bethnal Green in 1891 ?

Comment

There is a Bucks Row in Whitechapel ?

Comment

Where is the Key Street in Bethnal Green in 1891?

Comment

Welcome to FTF by the way,

What exactly it is you want to know? Are you looking to create a family tree and need help searching for people?
            Margaret

Comment

Here's Worship Street http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?q=Wors...43.022461&z=16

which was probably Hoxton in 1888 rather than Hackney as it is now.
              Margaret

Comment