Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Military History detail for WWI & WWII

Hi everyone

I am a newbie. I have over the past few years done a large family tree of the Ballance/ Guy families. I am now trying to investigate in more detail my fathers service history and was wondering if anyone can help.
    I have received his WWI info for his army service and have obtained his RAF records for WWII but is there anywhere I can obtain more deailed information other than where he served, his medals etc. Is there anywhere I can obtain any details of any missions he went on, his duties, his history of hospitalisation etc etc.
    He served in the 5 th Btn Bedforshire & Hertfordshire Regiment TAVR. I have found his name mentioned in a couple of war diaries, but have no idea where he was sent when wounded, what he did between the two diary mentions (1st in 1915, 2nd in 1918).
    Then in WWII he was commissioned into the RAF as an Intell officer. Again all I have is where he was stationed and various promotions and a couple of MIDs but not much more.
    I heard stories about him from other friends and family in the past but no details. Can I get these from anywhere or anyone?

Mark

Welcome to FTF, Mark. There are several folks here who may be able to suggest whether / where more info might be found. - Christine
    Researching: BENNETT (Leics/Birmingham-ish) - incl. Leonard BENNETT in Detroit & Florida ; WARR/WOR, STRATFORD & GARDNER/GARNAR (Oxon); CHRISTMAS, RUSSELL, PAFOOT/PAFFORD (Hants); BIGWOOD, HAYLER/HAILOR (Sussex); LANCASTER (Beds, Berks, Wilts) - plus - COCKS (Spitalfields, Liverpool, Plymouth); RUSE/ROWSE, TREMEER, WADLIN(G)/WADLETON (Devonport, E Cornwall); GOULD (S Devon); CHAPMAN, HALL/HOLE, HORN (N Devon); BARRON, SCANTLEBURY (Mevagissey)...

Comment

I'd say Google and Google and then Google some more!

Julie
      They're coming to take me away haha hee hee..........

.......I find dead people

Comment

Hi Mark welcome to FTF