Ancestry hint

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ancestry hint

I have a hint on Ancestry and although I subscribe to Ancestry I haven't got worldwide.
    Could someone give me an idea what the information consists of please.

I t concerns William Arthur Dean b.1873 Brownsea Island Dorset.

The hint reads:

New South Wales , Australia, registers of Coroners Inquests, 1796-1942 Record.
    William Arthur Dean Death 1917

Thanks

June

William Arthur Dean born c1874 Dorsetshire, England
    Place of death - North Goulburn
    Inquest date - 11 Feb 1917
    Inquest Location - Goulburn

Verdict: Drowning his own act while ............ of unsound mine
    (image of verdict attached - if you click on it you should be able to read it. I can't quite decipher it!)

inquest.jpg
    Elaine

Comment

Think it might be 'temporarily...written over two lines

Linda

Comment

Doh! So obvious when someone points it out! :o
        Elaine

Comment

I've never done that before Elaine, usually the other way around

Linda

Comment

Thank you so much Elaine and Linda.

I didn't even know he had gone to Australia and the suicide explains a lot.

Can I ask one more thing.

Can you see on passenger lists when he went to Australia and who with.

June

Comment

Any idea of his parents there are two that fit a year apart in Dorsershire

Linda

Comment

His parents were William and Amy Dean.

I know in 1901 they were living in Worthing Sussex.

I think he was married to Ada Burton.

June

Comment

Found an Ada Dean travelling with a Master William Dean, ages are a couple of years out, to Australia, 10th January 1913. Could be them. Very common for the husband to go out out first to get sorted with housing etc and the rest of the family to follow

Trouble is a William Dean on his own, there are quite a few. Still having a look though

Linda

Comment

Australian Electoral Roles.

1930 Ada Louisa Jane Dean 102 Cowper Street, Goulburn, home duties