Agricultural labourers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Agricultural labourers

Not really a research question....just curious if anyone has any comments. One of my ancestors, who was an agricultural labourer, doesn't seem to have stayed in one place for any length of time....he seems to have been continually criss crossing the East Midlands. I realise they would have had to move from farm to farm to get work (I've got an ag lab in another family who seems to have divided his time between 2 villages), but this does seem a bit extreme. Wondering if it's an indication that a farmer wasn't keen to take him on again or was this fairly frequent ?

Hi Greyingrey

I can't say I'm an expert but I was under the impression that an ag lab would be taken on for a year at the local hiring fair.

I know some of mine seemed to move a long way, but once I realised that the nearest fair may be a days walk away, you can soon get some big distances between last year's farm and next year's farm if you see what I mean.
    Barbara

Comment

I think also some of the ag labs didn't particually want to settle down either and were happy moving from place to place especially if they were unmarried.
      Lin

Searching Lowe, Everitt, Hurt and Dunns in Nottingham

Comment

Originally posted by greyingrey View Post
        Not really a research question....just curious if anyone has any comments. One of my ancestors, who was an agricultural labourer, doesn't seem to have stayed in one place for any length of time....he seems to have been continually criss crossing the East Midlands. I realise they would have had to move from farm to farm to get work (I've got an ag lab in another family who seems to have divided his time between 2 villages), but this does seem a bit extreme. Wondering if it's an indication that a farmer wasn't keen to take him on again or was this fairly frequent ?
        Ditto Barbara's comments

My tree is full of ag labs on many lines, LOL.