Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help ~> dating of victorian photographs.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help ~> dating of victorian photographs.

Hi All

It has been a good while since I last posted photographs on Family Tree Forum & was wondering if anyone could shed light onto the following images (included are front & reverse sides of respective photographs). I have my thoughts as to when they may have been taken, but I am not an expert in photography (or fashion) & would like your input as to the closest year/s they may have been taken & any guesses as to the respective ages of the subjects would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in Advance - Banksia Boy

I've come across this photographer before and found this website useful http://homepages.tesco.net/~roger.va.../taylor-ag.htm as it has examples of their cards, which should help you date the photos.

Looking at the lady, someone has scribbled across her face!! My great great grandmother had a dress similar to that style, and the photo was dated c1880.

HTH

Comment

Hi Velma :-)

Thank you for your thoughts V

I have previously had a really good look on a few websites for examples for 'A & G TAYLOR' - the photograph of the man I think may have been taken btw 1877-1880 & was wondering if others came to the same conclusion? (-Thoughts?-)

I had an inkling the photograph of the lady may be circa 1880s, but had a feeling someone with a keen eye for fashion may be able to pinpoint the period more clearly (thanks V) (-Any further Thoughts?-)

*I am also trying to identify the male & female are in the respective photos & whilst the image of the male has faded with age & the females face has unfortunately been scrawled over I am wondering if anyone may have thoughts to there ages (?)

NOTE: I have Photoshop & am able to clean them up :-)

Yours - Banksia Boy (AKA: Steve).

Comment