Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Finding interesting information on family members?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finding interesting information on family members?

Hi I've noticed that some people have managed to find information about individual family members that is beyond and above the BMD and relatives. I would love to know how I could look for information on my own relatives which could give me a picture of them and the time they lived in (of course providing there is some interesting information) so any hints or tips on this would be really helpful.

I have traced relatives to Dorset, Norfolk, Bristol, Wales and South and West London (these areas may have in either of the counties of Middlesex and Surrey).

In anticipation, thanks for your help. Ali

What kind of thing are you thinking of, alig ? I'm not very experienced, but you can get their occupations from census records & read local history books etc. You can try to find them through nineteenth century newspaper articles (available through most public library membership in the UK....you can use the number on your computer) That's the way, for example, I found the very graphic report of my ggg grandfather committing the crime of attempted murder

Comment

Newspapers are now one good source. The British Library's 19th century newspapers is a great resource. Try your local library or go to http://newspapers.bl.uk/blcs/
      There's also the Daily Mirror / Express, Times, Guardian, Scotsman archives. And Google News archives.
      Phil
      historyhouse.co.uk
      Essex - family and local history.

Comment

Hello Ali

I've found extra info by doing some lateral thinking.

• Googling can bring up references - particularly if the name is unusual. Make sure you put the name into inverted commas, so that Google treats it as a single item, not each part of the name as a separate search term.