Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice for an Aussie searching in England please

Hello everyone,

I am researching my late mother's family tree, and have so far managed quite well using online (government) birth, death, marriage and grave records in Australia. But now I need some advice please, on two separate subjects, so I am starting a new thread for each (I hope this is the best way to do it).

It turns out my Grandfather was born in the UK and came to Australia and married my grandmother in 1913. I have a copy of the marriage certificate, and it indicates he was 33 and born in Lincoln (which means about 1880) and names both his parents.

My question is this please. Am I able to use online government records in the UK (specifically Lincoln) or will it be necessary to join Ancestry or the like? I just need some help to know how an Aussie should approach things in "the old Dart".

Another question while I'm asking please. I am new to all this, and I use a Mac. Do any of you experienced hands have any recommendations on software to store and present this information (either free or purchase), or is this another reason to join Ancestry?

Thanks.

Hi Eric, welcome to Family Tree Forum.

Re your English line - you really need to start searching the UK census which are available on both Findmypast and Ancestry, both subscription/pay per view sites. If he was born in 1880 then you might be lucky enough to find him on the 1881 census from the Family Search website, which is free to view.

FMP & Ancestry also have passenger lists, so if you haven't found out when he travelled then they need looking at, although I believe some are available to view in Australia.

Using the census and BMD certificates you should be able to work back through a couple more generations. There are also a number of parish register transcriptions which are being made available online quite a lot of which are free, but I'm not sure what is available for Lincolnshire.