Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help Needed with 1841 Census + Previous Marriages!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help Needed with 1841 Census + Previous Marriages!

Hi,

After many years of searching, I have finally been able to track down the marriage of my 3rd Great Grandparents, John Southall and Susannah Wallis - 5 years after the birth of their first child! Susannah had been previousley married to a Mr ? Jones.

I recieved the certificate yesterday. Susannah was a widow (as expected), but John was a widower! I have spent the whole of yesterday evening and the vast majoroity of this morning trying to find John & Susannah on the 1841 census, and also to find both of their previous marriages. I have had no joy, so I now turn to the experts on here to see if you can give me a hand. The marriage happend in Tipton, Staffordshire.

John was born in 1801, at Kingswinford in Staffordshire. He was a Sawyer by trade, and so was his father William, so I persume he would have been in the profession all his life. I have tried searching all of the counties around the Black Country, but have not found him. His parents were still living in Kingswinford in 1841.

Susannah was born in 1818, at Tamworth, Staffordshire. She would have moved to Birmingham, Warwickshire, some time in the 1820's with her parents, Thomas & Sarah. She married a Mr Jones, sometime prior to 1849, and proberbly before 1844. I have searched for Susannah using both Wallis & Jones, but have not found her. I would expect her to be in Warwickshire, Worcestershire or Staffordshire, but she may be further a field. With a name like Jones, I think it would be best searching for her marriage first, but apart from the Latter day saints website, and on the GRO, I do not know where to look (apart from the local Records office!).