urgent help needed computer crashed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• urgent help needed computer crashed

my computer went off and now i have lost all my origanal settings,my start up page,all my short cuts ,all my fav.im having to do everything from scratch can i retreave it i tried a system restore it didnt do it.thank you brenda xxx

Hi Bren,
    I'm not a computer expert so can't really help much.
    However, what I would say is that if your computer has crashed it is probably down to one of two things - either a faulty component or some sort of virus.
    I would start by ruling out a virus by doing a full scan to see if anything is found.

Hopefully someone with more expertise than me will be along later to help!
    Elaine

Comment

you could try other restore points to see if they work.

If not you could try last known configuration that worked

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307852
      Regards Roy

Please note that images I restore are only temporarily kept on photobucket

Disclaimer:Benig distalgeesic ayn seplling mitsakes or incorrcet garmmar is puerly conicidnetal nad ni no way reflcets teh inetlligecne of teh authro.

Comment

some friend looked at it at something tried to install on it why i dont know as i have a panda security.
        he also thinks it may be my moniter but its only2 year old flat screen.got it back and now and then my mouse freezes i need a new computer but i wont be geting one lol brenda xx

Comment

Well at least its working, no anti-virus or anti-malware is 100%

I would suggest if you have not got them to download

1. Malwarebytes Clickhere and select the free version.

2. Superantispyware click here and again select the free one.

Update then regularly they will remove most nasties.

Most important and a lot of people are guilty of not doing this, is to backup your data.

you can even backup your favourites.

Not sure about your mouse check the battery if it uses one if not clean the ball rollers