who is he ??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• who is he ??

looking to find parents of William ALFRED Saxon born 1825 Ridge Hill Ashton-Under-Lyne
    in 1861 my greatgreatgran father John Saxon 1805 Ridge Hill was living with him but uunder"SON"
    looking for him in 1841/51/71 and any other census rtn.
    he also used middle name in 1861 ALFRED
    thanks
    DOM

1851 census - Piece 2211; Folio 181; Page 4; roll 87221. Living in Great Bolton with wife Mary Ann (25) and son John 5 - the family has 3 lodgers. Wlliam Alfred Saxon is 25 and a journeyman baker by trade.

There are several William Saxon's on the 1841 census.

Hope this helps

Ayse

Comment

this is him could you find him in 1841 ??
      i am trying to find whom his father was as in 1861 my greatgreatgrandad John Saxon b 1805 Ridge Hill was lodger with him but down as SON

Comment

there are quite a few saxons in ashton under lyne on IGI pilot search site; http://pilot.familysearch.org
        hope this helps
        Angelina

Comment

piece 2233; folio 36; page 21; roll: 87246. - 1851 census

John Saxon (c1806) is living at 13 Cotton Street, Ashton under Lyne a cotton draper by trade. He is a lodger with no wife in evidence, although he said he was married. He is living with the Foden family.

I will have another look at the 1841 census to see if anything jumps out.

Ayse

Comment

the way to go is to get a birth certificate which gives the mothers maiden name then search for a marriage which gives the groom and bride fathers names.
            In 1851 the son John age 5 is given a birth place of Worcestershire Duff? Hill but not birth for a John is registered in Worcestershire till 1862.
            There is a John Clough Saxon born q2 1846 Bolton
            A William Alfred Saxon marries q4 1844 in Bolton to a Mary Ann Clough I surmise.

In 1841 HO107/535/6/20/34 there is a William age 10 who I presume is the son of John age 36 and Mary age 38 in Ashton Under Lyne