Hi Newbie Here

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi Newbie Here

Hi I am new to the forums. I am trying to trace my mother in laws family, as she was placed in care back in the late 1930's. We have her mothers name. I have managed to trace backwards from the 1911 census back to follow the line.

I can find no records of her after the 1911 census when she lived with her twin sister and parents in London, neither marriage or death.
    I would appreciate any advice on what to look for. All I have is her two christian names and given name. Neither can I find anything about her twin sister?

Also

I have registered on "find my past" and My heritage taking the benifit of the 14 day free trial. I have also loaded the "my heritage" family tree software. This site also offers access to databases to trace people. Has anyone heard of this is it any good. The cost of these sites is quite expensive, however, as I am doing a complete tree on both my family and husbands family I am happy to pay, but which sites offer the best source of information.

Sorry one more question.

Birth certificates etc. Can these be viewd on line anywhere? or is there somewhere you can go and look in person. I have only found places that charge upwards of £10 per certificate - which could work out expensive.

I appreicate you advice

Tanya

Hi Tanya

welcome to the board. there is a site for looking up BMD

It is free, then you send of for the certs to the GRO, and each cert costs seven pounds.

If any of your FH was happening in London, there is Ancestry.uk but it is a subscription site. Though people do look ups on here, who have already got a sub.The certs are online by ancestry, with all the details of what the vicar put on them at the church when the marriage/baptism took place.

mm

Comment

Thank you for reply. Have just been on the Free BMD ( thanks) but cannot even find her birth records, but I do have that information from elsewhere I am obviously doing something wrong?