Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• aussie children

hi all
    i hope i have got this right as to where to post my message and if i havent can you point me in the right direction'thanks as im new to all this
    hear is my problem
    looking for 3 children from abt 1840 or abts
    sarah gracey...dob 1835
    william gracey...dob1831
    george gracey...dob 1833
    there parents are
    george graceydob 1797
    .mother marearet mcpherson dob 1808
    margaret died age 27yrs
    father died age ..39 yrs
    they came to aust as convects
    george had a brother william dob...1800.. he was 39yrs when he passed away
    i have a bit on the boys as i did get a few certs .the to brothers i mean......
    i have looked in state records 2day orphen protatant. and no name in gracey
    i certainly
    would be very greatful for any help i would receive
    thanks ...hotmail

Welcome Hotmail

where about were these folks born?
    Jess

Comment

The NSW BDMS shows Margaret McPherson and William Gracey married at Scots Church Sydney in 1831. William, George and Sarah were BAPTISED in New South Wales in 1831, 1833 and 1835. If you are able to access a local history library in AUS, one that has the NSW Archives ARK kit, you will be able to search the baptisms on microfilm but which will tell you where, which church, but not much more. All the early church records, up to 1852 are available this way.

However, the death of Margaret Gracey in 1830 at 27yrs means that either her children were baptised AFTER her death, or this was not Margaret the wife of George. Maybe the microfilm of the marriage and death registers might tell you who she was.

There are two marriages for Wiliam Gracey, one to Agnes Noonan in 1870 at Albury and one in 1871 to Sarah ONeill at Young (I think one is meant to be George). Sarah Gracey married John Archbald McDonald at Bathurst in 1857.