No announcement yet.

What software to use - need a little help from some + experience tree makers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What software to use - need a little help from some + experience tree makers

Hi all. I am quite new to family tree making, and I would like to get information/experiences from more experienced family tree maker to help me to decide which software/tools to use.
    I would like to use a free tool, but I think I could compromise and pay up to £10/month and a tool that thick most of the boxes, or maybe even buy a tool.
    I did some search around and I think that the following might be some of the features I would like to have:
    - option to add midia (pictures, audio, video, etc)
    - more detailed information about individual (contact, professional, citation, events, dates, etc)
    - ability to import data from other genealogy programs
    - web publishing (so individuals of the tree can get involved)
    - charts and report, ability to generate report/chart of all the tree

I had a taste of the following tools with it’s good and bad points.
    - Genesreunited – it’s quite simple to use, but maybe a bit too simple for me, as there is no option to add more information to the individuals, at least I didn’t see it. Didn’t like that it’s only web based, so probably out of question.

- Myheritage – quite liked this tool, easy to use, good lay out, but the feature to generate report/chart of entire tree is not available in the free version, so I am not sure if it’s worth to pay just for this extra tool. I also would like to have some more info from user of if, how does it work with pushing the tree in the net in terms of protection of info, passwords etc. Any comments in this software are welcome.