Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ancestry.co.uk V find my past .co.uk

HI All.
    I have been looking at the memberships of the above two sites. I cannot see anywhere that you have access to 1911 census on ancestry?!
    Are you only able to access it via findmypast.co.uk?

Thank for you help

deb

Yes, 1911 census only available via FindmyPast or the dedicated 1911 website - http://www.1911census.co.uk/
    Elaine

Comment

Hi Elain.
      Thank you for that. I have used ancestry before but not findmypast. The latter is cheaper to join, but not sure if it is a good. What is your opinion please?

Thanks

deb

Comment

I'm rather spoilt as I have a subscription to both.

Census info much the same on both, although FMP has the 1911 as well. I generally find FMP transcriptions are better and you can also search census by address if you want to.
        BMD index - Ancestry definitely better.
        Immigration/emigration passenger lists - Ancestry probably better
        Parish records - depends what you need. Ancestry has a collection from the LMA (London Metropolitan Archives) - a must if you have London ancestors.
        Parish records on FMP - very good if it covers what you need - new stuff being added regularly.
        Military info - Ancestry generally better.

It´s difficult to say which is the best to have - it really depends what you are looking for!
        Elaine

Comment

HI Elaine.

Brilliant answer, thank you. At least you have given me something to think about before i make my decision.
          Many thanks Deb

Comment

Sorry to butt in on your thread Deb but I was just pondering over the same question.
            My husband died in May and I seem to have lost a year researching and lost touch with everything, but I'm now ready to get back into it and concentrate on my hubby's side of the family.
            I have just cancelled my Australian Ancestry that Glen kindly put us on to last year and I was thinking of joining FMP.