Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Llewellyn Howard 1866-1946- completely stuck!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Llewellyn Howard 1866-1946- completely stuck!

Can anyone suggest how I can move my seach on regarding my great grandfather.
    His name was Llewellyn Howard and I have found him on the 1911 census and the 1901 census but nowhere else. He seems to have completely disappeared. I have his death certificate in the hope I could find out more about his birth place, as all I know is that it is listed as Sheffield - but there are no details on it about his birth place.
    Can anyone suggest where I can look next. His wife Mary Rebecca nee Houchin has also disappeared - all very mysterious and extremely frustrating.
    Would really appreciate any tips as I am relatively new to all this.
    Thanks
    Purdy

The only Llewellyn Howard b. 1866 I can find on the 1901 census has a wife, Mary (b.Greenwich London) and daughter Ivy May (b. abt 1900 Greenwich London). He is also listed as b. Greenwich. Is this your family ?

Beverley

Comment

This does seem to be a very rare name (surprisingly!). If you search FreeBMD FreeBMD - Search for events there are very few Llewellyn Howard even if you use a wildcard search on the first name.

Do you have their marriage certificate? Does it have their ages on it? The reason I ask is because the age on the death certificate may not be accurate - it is the best guess of the person who was the informant.

The only suitable births showing on FreeBMD are in 1853 and 1858. Maybe he pretended to be younger than he was? Or maybe his birth was not registered? Alternatively he might have been registered with a different first name?

These are just my first thoughts
      Anne

Comment