No announcement yet.

Finding my Grandfather, George William Reginald Williams - Japanese POW in WW2

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finding my Grandfather, George William Reginald Williams - Japanese POW in WW2

Hi. I'm new to family history and would appreciate some help and advice. A few years ago, discovered that the Grandfather I knew was actually my Mother's step-Father. My Nan, Iris Bryan, had my Mother out of wedlock in 1937 in Wiltshire, and although her father, George William Reginald Williams wanted to marry her, my Nan's father did not give permission. He stood by his daughter though and was devoted to my Mother, his granddaughter. All I know is that George Williams was a Captain in the Army during WW2 and worked on the Burma-Thai Railway as a Japanese POW. He survived but was an unwell man after the War. We think he lived at Fishponds at Bristol and his Mother's name was Pamela. My Mother is getting older now and would love to know what happened to him. No one is alive now to ask that was an adult at the time and she was too young at the time and never met him. We do not have any photo and he was not on my Mother's birth certificate so it makes research difficult. Thanks for your help.

Hi,
    A quick search on FreeBMD for a George W R Williams has thrown up o0nly one entry
    Williams George W R Mar 1914 Plymouth vol 5b p 394 mmn Bleeze
    The certificate will give you the names of his parents
    Emeltee

Comment

i looked on ancestry prisoners of war site but it seems to be only those in camps in German controlled areas.
      the death index has William George R Williams twice
      1 born 6 april 1912 died nov 1987 cardiganshire south
      2 born 21 sept 1914 died sept 2003 Lichfield
      may be he swapped his names around?
      cant find anythingelse - sorry
      Angelina

Comment

If you do come across a POW card in Japanese, put it up and I'll see what I can do for you.

Comment