Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Think I'm getting there, could anyone double check it for me?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Think I'm getting there, could anyone double check it for me?

Hi there

I'm a newbie on these forums, so hi to everyone - and what a fantastic resource this is! I've done quite a bit of searching on here, and the information is really useful, so thank you.

A few days ago, the only family names knew were my maternal grandparents, I knew one date of birth (1918) but not the other, no places, no date for marriage etc.... Now, through looking around at BMD's, census' and ordering a few certificates I think I'm back as far as a birth in 1797! However, I could have made some assumptions that aren't 100% and I could be wrong. This is the first time I've done anything like this, so I'm struggling a bit.

Unfortunately, all my family have passed away so I have absolutely no-one to ask for details, I've been through all the keepsakes and photos I have and nothing has provided any more clues, so it is all going to be how much info I can find I think. I have a subscription to familyrelatives.com and 100 credits left on findmypast.com.

Would it be possible for me to post the info I have, does anyone have a spare few minutes just to go over what I've done and spot any glaring mistakes? I would be really grateful.

Thanks in advance
    Rachel

Rachel, please post all the details you have - we love a good piece of research to get our teeth into!

It would be great to get you a few generations further back. :smilee:

Welcome to the Forum!
    Elizabeth
    Research Interests:
    England:Purkis, Stilwell, Quintrell, White (Surrey - Guildford), Jeffcoat, Bond, Alexander, Lamb, Newton (Lincolnshire, Stalybridge, London)
    Scotland:Richardson (Banffshire), Wishart (Kincardineshire), Johnston (Kincardineshire)

Comment

Welcome Rachel!