Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How many with Ancestry also use FMP and for what??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How many with Ancestry also use FMP and for what??

I have a subscription to Ancestry which seems to be adequate for my purposes except of course the 1911 census which I buy credits for .
    With the offer of 20% off on FMP is it really worth going for to run alongside ????
    Would love some opinions thanks

I'm not sure whether or not it's worthwhile, but I have succumbed to the temptation for some time.

FMP
    Censuses: 1911; different transcriptions (so different errors); different search options
    Migration: outgoing passenger lists from England (instead of incoming)
    BMD: FHS Online resources; Civil service evidence of age 1752-1948; Divorces and matrimonial causes 1858-1903

Different UK/Commonwealth (or Empire) records; different career records.

In some cases the records are complementary to Ancestry - but Ancestry has a far wider spread if you have a world sub, of course.

Christine
    Last edited by Christine in Herts; 15-10-09, 19:25.
    Researching: BENNETT (Leics/Birmingham-ish) - incl. Leonard BENNETT in Detroit & Florida ; WARR/WOR, STRATFORD & GARDNER/GARNAR (Oxon); CHRISTMAS, RUSSELL, PAFOOT/PAFFORD (Hants); BIGWOOD, HAYLER/HAILOR (Sussex); LANCASTER (Beds, Berks, Wilts) - plus - COCKS (Spitalfields, Liverpool, Plymouth); RUSE/ROWSE, TREMEER, WADLIN(G)/WADLETON (Devonport, E Cornwall); GOULD (S Devon); CHAPMAN, HALL/HOLE, HORN (N Devon); BARRON, SCANTLEBURY (Mevagissey)...

Comment

I use both I like the passenger lists on FMP and military as I have a lot of rellies that moved around and emigrated. I took advantage of the reduced rate for 1911 for already having a membership.
      Linda x

Comment

I use both Val.