X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I search pre 1837 data?

Hello,

I am looking for some advice on how I might track down the following;

a) A copy of a birth certificate for an Emma Kick - born 1833 in Glastonbury.
    b) A copy of her fathers marriage certificate - Thomas Kick - born 1796 - prob Glastonbury.
    c) The name of Thomas Kick's wife. I have checked the census logs for 1841 & 1851 and it looks like she died between 1833 and 1841 based on the age of their children.

As the info needed is pre 1837 online marriage/birth data and pre 1841 census data I am not sure how best to proceed.

At the moment I only have Emma's marriage certificate to confirm father and the 1841 and 1851 census logs.

Can anyone advise me where / how to look as I am still quite new to this.

thanks.

Hi Oliveriles

Civil registration didn't start until 1837. Before that you will need to consult parish records, not all of which are on line.

However, a good start for you would be the IGI -

FamilySearch.org - Family History and Genealogy Records

Try looking for Emma's baptism. Come back and let us know what you have found.

OC

Comment

As OC has said, pre 1837 will reqire you to search Parish Records. There will be no certificates, just the entries in the PRs. Ad well as the IGI, FreeReg is coming along nicely with transcriptions of PRs (usually not already in the IGI).

A lot depends on the County that your ancestors came from. Some Counties have much better online coverage of PRs than others.

There are also transcripts that are part of the British Vital Records and are available on CD from the Church of Latter Day Saints (LDS). I do believe these are slowly becomimg available on the new pilot search site for the LDS.

Some Counties also publish transcripts of PRs that have usually been done by the local Family History Society and many are for sale on CD or microfiche.