Two new discoveries..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Two new discoveries..

I have been doing my tree for 6 years but have never really bothered about researching my aunts and uncles as I knew them from childhood.

I lost touch with mum's sister, Aunty Lil, after mum died in 1973. (She died in 1988). Her son had told me some time ago that she was born in 1930 but I had never found her birth record.

Tonight I did a FreeBMD search, using just the surname, mother's maiden name and county and widening the years to before mum's birth year of 1926 (just in case my cousin had the wrong year).

Well, to my surprise, not only did I find a birth record for a Josephine in 1930 with the correct mother's maiden name and specific area, I also found there was another sister born in 1928 (named after their mother, Alice). I never knew an Aunty Alice.

So Aunty Lil was born as Josephine!! I wonder why she was known as Lil?? Has anyone heard of Josephine being know as Lil or Lillian??

I also searched for a death for Alice within and couple of years of the birth and found her death record in the next quarter.

I have applied for the certificates and hope they prove me right.
    Lynne

Searching for Ford, Duffy, (Manchester and Ireland) Cree (Manchester, Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire), Owen (Manchester), Humphreys (Manchester and Ireland), Egerton (Manchester and Cheshire), Cresswell (Manchester).

Well done Lynne. Hope they are the right certificates.
    Uncle John - Passed away March 2020

Comment

Me too UJ!
      Lynne

Searching for Ford, Duffy, (Manchester and Ireland) Cree (Manchester, Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire), Owen (Manchester), Humphreys (Manchester and Ireland), Egerton (Manchester and Cheshire), Cresswell (Manchester).

Comment

I did a similar thing and discovered Aunt Pat was Martha and Violet was Ivy - why I shall never know!!
        Jean

To forget your ancestors is to be a brook without a source, a tree without a root....

Comment