Six bar Burma Star????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Six bar Burma Star????

This isn't particularly important but is starting to annoy me!

A friend told me the other day that his grandfather was awarded the "Six Bar Burma Star" and was the only person in Britain to have received this medal.

I've googled and no such thing seems to exist.

Can any military experts suggest what else it could have been? I would imagine, from the age of my friend, that this was a WW1 medal.

OC

I'm no expert, but I think you could get more than one bar awarded on the Queen's South Africa Medal - for the Boer War.
    Vicky

Comment

Ministry of Defence | Defence For... | Veterans | Medals | Burma Star

The MOD example has a single bar engraved PACIFIC.

It was a WWII medal so your friend must be mistaken.
      Uncle John - Passed away March 2020

Comment

Bars mean the medal has been awarded again. I think your friend has mis-remembered.

Comment

I don't think there was any conflict around Burma in WW1, so no campaign star at that time?

The Burma star (WW2) had 6 points - perhaps there is some confusion and a six pointed star with a bar has become a star with six bars??

Jay
          Janet in Yorkshire

Genealogists never die - they just swap places in the family tree

Comment

Thankyou, yes, it's looking like one of those family myths......I won't tell him though, as he may think I'm a nosy disbelieving snooping friend!

EDIT - ooh, Janet, I wonder if that's it? But he surely wouldn't be the only one to have been awarded this?

OC

Comment

both my dad, who was in the Navy, and my OH's dad, who was in the Army, have been awarded the Burma Star. Its not that uncommon

Ministry of Defence | Defence For... | Veterans | Medals | Burma Star

whoops, just realised this is the link that UJ posted
              Last edited by Vicky the Viking; 14-08-09, 22:07. Reason: duplicate URL
              Vicky

Comment