X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Navy Records after 1919

Hi all,

I'm sorry to say it's me again... :(.

My grandfather Thomas William Charles Hitchinson - was in the navy - he was born in 1918 though so he's not on any of the records available to me as most of them go up to 1919 only (the navy ones anyway) - I'm only subscribed to findmypast.com - can anyone have a quick search (probably just for Thomas Hitchinson) on ancestry or something? :-) Or do you know anywhere free where you recommend I take a look? Thanks a lot guys.

PS. I'm sorry I keep asking questions and I'm not very good at helping anyone else out as I am still learning in this area... however I make regular trips to the National Archives at Kew (approximately one or two a month) so if anyone wants anything specific checking out while i'm there please pm me. :-D

Laura

For Navy Records after 1922 you will have to contact the MOD, prove you are next of kin, complete a form giving as much info as possible and a fee of £30. This is because the records after 1922 are still retained by the MOD and will not be released until the MOD is ready to do so. All Navy records pre 1922 are at The National Archives Kew. Any medal entitlements for W War 1 and W War 2 are available for downloading from TNA at a cost of £3.50 each one or free if you go to the National Archives or through Ancestry. You can also use your public library for one hour free time to download the medal entitlements through Acestry. I presume you will be looking for Second W War Records or at least records from 1934 onwards? It is helpful to have some idea of the ships on which he served.

The following website for which I did a google search should help you.

Janet
    Last edited by Janet; 25-07-09, 21:42.

Comment

here is the link to the Veterans Agency, where you can apply for Royal Navy records.

Service records - Royal Navy

Here is the info you will find on the link i have given