Debating buying FTM 2009

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Debating buying FTM 2009

I have been dipping in and out of family research for the last nine years or so. I'd like to now commit more time as I realise that every time I start up again I'm a little rusty.

To make matters worse, I have been using an old version of FTM which has worked fine, but now having a new pc with a Vista Business OS my files copied over but not my FTM software, so I can't open them.

I have two options:
    1 To continue using my old pc which runs XP;
    2 Buy FTM for my new pc;

I realise I may be better off getting a newer version of FTM even if I stick with my old pc.

So, can anyone offer any general words of advice please?

And I have read a couple of reviews where FTM 2009 does not run on Vista, so any advice on that would be most welcome.

Thanks, Ray

Which version of FTM are you using at the moment?

FTM 2005 / 2006 / 2008 / 2009 all work with Vista Home, although you will need to download a patch for 2005 & 2006. (not sure about Vista Business!)

You will find that FTM 2009 is very different to all earlier versions of FTM - so it depends how used you are to your current version as to how well you will get on with the new version!

I've got both FTM 2006 and 2009 installed on my computer - and much prefer 2006 but that is probably because I have been using it for a few years now.
    Elaine

Comment

FTM 2006 works with Vista Business (after instaling the patch), and I see no reason why 2005 wouldn't either if it works with other versions of Vista.
      Sarah

Comment

Thanks Elaine and Sarah. I have heard others say they prefer earlier FTM versions to 2009.

Apologies for my ignorance, but the 'patch' for the versions you both speak of, is that downloaded from MS or from FTM?

Ray

Comment

You can find it at this link
          Family Tree Maker Update for Windows Vista
          Elaine

Comment

Many thanks for the link Elaine,

Ray

Comment