Information on Certificates

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Information on Certificates

Hi, I'm new to all this, as I am just starting research on my family. My problem is my grandfathers family. They came from Nottingham, but as they have an extremely common surname (Brown) I have various possibilities. Is it possible to actually see the information on a certificate before buying a copy if you go to the local CRO. It's quite a distance for me to get to Nottingham and I wouldn't want to waste a journey. Or is there somewhere in London as I can get there easier. Otherwise I might end up with piles of certificates for other families!!

Many thanks

Linda
    Linda

My avatar is my Grandmother Carolina Meulenhoff 1896 - 1955

not usually, no.
    Start with the facts you know and work back - his fathers name will be on hs marriage cert.
    Jess

Comment

Thank you for the quick reply.

We have his fathers and mothers names but that is where it starts to unravel - according to BMD indexes and census info (and what little we have from him) there is a two year difference in his date of birth. This means that for his name and area there are 7 possibilities. So if I could check the info first, as we do know his mothers name it would hopefully narrow the field.
      Linda

Comment

Originally posted by ozgirl View Post
        Hi, I'm new to all this, as I am just starting research on my family. My problem is my grandfathers family. They came from Nottingham, but as they have an extremely common surname (Brown) I have various possibilities. Is it possible to actually see the information on a certificate before buying a copy if you go to the local CRO. It's quite a distance for me to get to Nottingham and I wouldn't want to waste a journey. Or is there somewhere in London as I can get there easier. Otherwise I might end up with piles of certificates for other families!!

Many thanks

Linda
        Welcome to FTF.