Age old photo

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Age old photo

Hi I was give this photo many years ago.
    It is "suppose" to be of our great Grandfather John. He was "Suppose" to be born around 1850.
    Can any one help in tell the years when it could have been taken.
    Nothing was written on the back of it.
    Cheerio
    Attached Files

Do you know where the photo was taken?

I'm no expert in these things, but if it was in Australia (as your username suggests), I think that may make a difference to the dating.

I don't suppose the photographer's name's printed on the back?

Comment

Hi Broken Hill, could you make the photo bigger please, only it makes it much easier to date. Childrens photos are always difficult and this also appears to be coloured?

Comment

Do you know where the photo was taken?

I'm no expert in these things, but if it was in Australia (as your username suggests), I think that may make a difference to the dating.

I don't suppose the photographer's name's printed on the back?
        Thanks for the response.
        I believe it was taken in Australia, it was on funny type of paper/carboardish and their was a stamp of someones buisness form memory.
        It was in my hand for about 1 minute so I did not have a good look at its back
        I just looked for a persons name.
        I had to hand it back as the owner was funny about even giving me a copy.
        Nowadays it is impossible to get access to it as they think it is worth millions (Ha)
        I did not think at the time how important the back and type of paper was.
        Cheeerio,

Comment

Hi Broken Hill, could you make the photo bigger please, only it makes it much easier to date. Childrens photos are always difficult and this also appears to be coloured?
          I have up sized it but not too sure on how big a size (KB) you are allowed to use on this site.
          The yellow is from what looks like tea or some other drink spilled on it.