Sometimes the most interesting ancestors are not close rellies

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sometimes the most interesting ancestors are not close rellies

I am a child migrant researcher who tries to make people aware that they have a child migrant in their family tree. I have had a lot of responses from people saying for example 'that person is not a close relative so I am not really interested in them/researching them'

I just want to say that sometimes the most interesting stories/histories belong to distant ancestors.

A lot of the child migrants for many reasons do not have direct descendants or their families may not know they were home children so there may not be anyone out there to acknowledge them or research them other than someone who is a distant descendant

So if you do find you have a child migrant, an orphan ancestor or a relative that you have not considered looking at then please consider looking into their story as you might be their only descendant for all you know.

The way I see it is, every ancestor deserves to have their story told no matter how closely/distantly related you are to them.

Thank you for reading this

George
    Proud to be connected to Elizabeth (Marjorie) Griffin, one of over 100,000 British Home Children sent from United Kingdom to Canada & Australia to begin a new life.

George

Are you saying that family historians are not interested in having contact with someone who is distantly related to them?

How very cruel of them, especially if they have information which would be new to the Home Child.

OC

Comment

I think you are right George, everyone has a story and sometimes the most interesting ones are not our direct rellies.

I care about everyone who belongs in my tree, related or not, but especially the ones who did not marry and have no descendents to be interested in them.